IN AND OUT

What I bring to the river is predictable:
a habitual tension, a muscular inflexibility
which makes the descent hard going,
the rocks I negotiate resistant,
though I’m the resister. When I get there
I undress meticulously, removing shoes,
clothes, glasses, watch in a well-rehearsed order,
positioning them unnecessarily, checking
and double-checking. Those possessions
are as yet impossibly heavy.

I dive into the river and almost immediately
am mutable, liquid – my periodic ‘wonderful’
acquires new music, its l is complicit
with the water which dissolves solidity;
and when I emerge ten minutes later,
I’m different: I dress leisurely,
unanxiously, my shoes, watch, glasses
have acquired a talismanic quality,
my hair has borrowed its whiteness from the waterfall,

or from that heron which appeared unexpectedly
the other evening, hovered a moment, balancing lightly

over the water, then continued downstream
into the distance, its flight as liquid as the river,

as I murmured ‘wonderful’, then made my way
up to the road again, effortlessly this time.


DENTRO E FUORI

Quello che porto al fiume è prevedibile:
una tensione usuale, una muscolatura rigida
che rende la discesa faticosa,
le rocce che scavalco resistenti
benché sia io a resistere. Quando arrivo
mi spoglio con cura, tolgo scarpe,
vestiti, occhiali, orologio, li dispongo
inutilmente in ordine perfetto,
controllando due volte, tanto pesanti sono
per il momento queste cose.

Mi tuffo e quasi subito
sono liquido, mutevole, il mio ripetere “bello”
acquista nuovo suono, la sua “elle” complice
dell’acqua che dissolve il solido.
Quando riemergo dieci minuti dopo
sono diverso, mi rivesto con comodo,
senz’ansia: scarpe, orologio, occhiali
hanno la qualità dei talismani
i miei capelli hanno rubato il bianco alla cascata

o a quell’airone che apparve inaspettato
l’altra sera, librandosi un istante – in bilico

sull’acqua – per poi seguire a valle
la corrente, il volo liquido come il fiume,

mentre mormoravo “bello” e riprendevo
di nuovo la mia strada, stavolta senza sforzo.

 

 

Translations by ANTONELLA ANEDDA from The Benefit of the Doubt. Poems 1967-2006, Private publication 2007
Inediti inglesi, semicerchio  r i v i s t a d i p o e s i a c o m p a r a t a  X X X V I I 2 0 0 7
